This site has a curious gender imbalance

• 34 Replies

katfireblade

• Expert
  • Probably bad for you
    • View Profile
Re: This site has a curious gender imbalance
« Reply #30 on: January 01, 2018, 08:33:09 AM »
Okay, I need to think on the rest of my reply, but I am going to tackle the economics and science because that part of the conversation is making my brain hurt.

I'm basing my argument on markets, chiefly, and what tends to happen when there's no competition. (Or at least very little of it.)

And I wasn't talking about economics, because economics are not a good indication of how people function. We create the markets, and can shape and change them according to the laws, regulations, and moral codes we bring to the table. I was talking about actual human behaviors outside of those systems. Because again, I'm pretty into Sociology. I started studying it to make my writing and characters better. I kept up with it because it's bloody fascinating.

I live in a city (one of many) where cooperation and collusion in the telecoms market has led to zero competition in home internet, a local monopoly.

Collusion is not the same thing as cooperation.

Collusion: A secret agreement between two or more parties for a fraudulent, illegal, or deceitful purpose.
Cooperation: the actions of someone who is being helpful by doing what is wanted or asked for : common effort

Another difference? The former is breaking the law, so they are not cooperating with society. The latter is beneficial. This falls under "every cough is not pneumonia;" just because two things superficially share a trait does not mean they're the same.

And that's all I'm going to say on economics because this section of the conversation is now somewhat ridiculous and headed down a rabbit hole.

To which I cite a slightly more recent article from the same website citing a study that showed that brain differences between the sexes are hard-wired.